Press Releases

AWC welcomes Kevin Bender as board chair, thanks outgoing chair Kevin Auch for his service to farmers

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) today welcomes Kevin Bender as the new Chair of its board of directors as well as Gary Stanford as vice-chair.

AWC’s board voted in both positions directly following its Annual General Meeting (AGM) during FarmTech conference in Edmonton. The change in leadership coincides with the end of previous chair Kevin Auch’s two terms on the board.

“As AWC’s incoming chair, I want to sincerely thank Kevin Auch for all of the dedication and leadership he’s shown over the years,” said Bender. “Kevin has been a director on our board since AWC’s inception and has played a major role in helping to shape the commission’s strategic direction and leading us forward.”

AWC’s AGM also marks the beginning of terms for three new board members: Hannah Konschuh and Justin Bell who will both serve region 2, and Todd Hames who will serve region 4. Hames replaces outgoing director Greg Porozni, and Konschuh and Bell replace Auch and Gerry Good. AWC thanks both Porozni and Good for their outstanding service to farmers. Porozni is also a founding director of AWC alongside both Auch and Bender, and Good has served on the board since 2015.

“It’s been an honour to serve Alberta’s wheat farmers,” said Auch. “In the five years that I’ve spent on this board, I’ve watched AWC grow from an idea into an organization that has had a major impact on the wheat industry. Going forward, I know AWC is in great hands and will continue to provide excellent value for farmers.”

Following its regional meetings this past November, AWC also welcomes four new regional representatives: Jeffrey Pasemko and Bernie Klammer will represent region 4 and Olivia Sederberg and Devin Hartzler will represent region 2.

Elections for region 3 will be taking place in November 2018. Farmers who are interested in joining the commission in either a board of director or regional representative capacity should reach out to their local director to learn more about getting involved. A full listing of AWC’s board of directors and regional representatives is available on

Media Contact:
Victoria Decker
Interim Communications Manager
Alberta Wheat Commission