Press Releases

AWC board of directors re-elects chair and vice chair, welcomes two new directors

Following its Annual General Meeting (AGM), which took place at FarmTech in Edmonton earlier today, the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) board of directors re-elected Kevin Auch from Carmangay as chair and Kevin Bender from Sylvan Lake as vice-chair. Auch and Bender have both served on AWC’s board since its inception in 2012 and are now entering into their second year in these roles.

AWC’s AGM also marked the official start for two new board members: Cole Siegle from Clyde, representing Region 5, and Jason Saunders from Taber, representing Region 1. Siegle and Saunders replace Henry Vos from Region 5, and Lynn Jacobson from Region 1, both of who chose not to seek re-election.

“It’s been an honour to serve as AWC’s board chair for the past year, and I look forward to continuing my work with this industry-leading group of farmers,” said Kevin Auch. “I’m also pleased to welcome Cole and Jason to our board. I can tell both of them are natural leaders and will certainly be excellent contributors to AWC’s strategic direction.”

Jacobson and Vos also served on AWC’s board since its inception.

“Being part of AWC’s board of directors has been a privilege,” said Jacobson. “This experience has been a great way to take an active role in shaping the wheat industry through a changing era. It’s been an opportunity to work with other farmers to build a progressive, profitable and competitive environment for Alberta’s wheat farmers.” 

“Every decision made at the board table is based on how we can best benefit farmers,” said Vos. “Through sound governance, diverse opinions and good debates, I am proud to have been part of developing our board into a well-oiled machine that works to achieve this goal at every turn in the road. I look forward to seeing the great things this dedicated group of farmers and will do to continue strengthening our industry.”

Following its regional meetings this past November, AWC also welcomed four new regional representatives to its team: Jacob Kodde of Coaldale, Dave Bishop of Barons, and Arthur Eckert of Duchess are now representing Region 1, and Don Borduzak of Legal is representing Region 5.

Elections for board members and regional representatives will be taking place in regions 2 and 4 in November 2017. Farmers who are looking to get involved in shaping the wheat industry are encouraged to run for election. AWC will provide more details on this year’s elections this fall. A listing of AWC’s full board of directors and regional representatives is available on
Media Contact:
Victoria Russell
c. 403-813-6956