Press Releases

Alberta Wheat Commission Encourages Growers to Attend Annual General Meeting

Alberta Wheat Commission will hold its second AGM in conjunction with the FarmTech Conference.

(Calgary, Alberta) – The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) would like to invite all Alberta wheat producers to attend their Annual General Meeting (AGM) and learn how the Commission is working to develop the industry and increase long-term profitability for wheat producers.

The AGM, which will take place at 11:30 AM on Wednesday, January 29, 2014 in Edmonton, AB in Hall E at the Northlands Park, Edmonton Expo Centre, is being held in conjunction with the FarmTech conference. Growers wishing to attend the AGM do not have to be registered for FarmTech.

"The Board of Directors encourages AWC members to get out and attend the AGM to hear about how the Commission has developed in the last year, and where the priorities are for the future," says Kent Erickson, Chair of the AWC Board. "The organization has been in a year of growth - we have established some core programs, hired a number of strong staff to lead these programs, and have some exciting plans in place for the future."

The AGM will include a report on the year’s activities and achievements, the priorities for the 2014 year, and a review of the audited financial statements. The AWC AGM is open to members of the public and anyone interested in AWC’s activities is encouraged to attend. Only Alberta wheat growers in attendance will be eligible to vote.

AWC is also proud to announce the release of the organization’s first Annual Report. The 2012-13 Annual Report will be available at the AGM, and can also be found on the AWC website at If you wish to have a hard copied mailed to you, please contact our office at 403-717-3711.

For more information please contact:

Amanda Ryan
Communications Manager
P. (403) 219-7902 C. (587) 777-6344

The Alberta Wheat Commission is a producer-directed organization representing the interests of and serving as a single voice for all of Alberta’s 11,000 wheat producers.