Press Releases

Alberta Wheat Commission Encourages Future Farm Leaders through Undergraduate Scholarships

(Calgary, Alberta) – The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) is partnering up with the University of Alberta (U of A) and the University of Lethbridge (U of L) to fund two new undergraduate scholarships to support and encourage students to enter the field of agriculture for their post-secondary education.

"AWC recognizes the value in developing farm leaders both on and off the farm and the impact they can have on Western Canadian agriculture," says Kent Erickson, Chair of the AWC Board of Directors. "These scholarships will encourage talented young students to start a career in agriculture and ensure continued success of Alberta’s wheat industry."

These two undergraduate scholarships, funded by AWC, will be awarded each year and provide $1000 to future farm leaders entering an agriculture degree program at U of A and U of L. This new funding initiative from AWC will not only encourage more students to enter the field of agriculture, but it will also form a strong relationship between Alberta’s wheat producers and Alberta’s key educational institutions that offer agriculture programs.

"Having Alberta’s wheat producers invest in the agriculture program at U of A is a tremendous opportunity for them to support the breeding program we run, and encourage more students to take an interest in genetics in agriculture," says Dean Spanner, Professor and head of the breeding program at the U of A.

"It is great to see support from Alberta growers that will encourage young students to seek careers in agriculture and ensure continued support for the agriculture industry down the road," says Danny Leroy, Chair of the Economics Department and Coordinator of Agricultural Studies at the U of L.

The undergraduate scholarships will be awarded starting this fall and each fall thereafter, and will be based on academic achievement and community involvement. The U of A and U of L will each select a successful candidate and administer the scholarship funding. For more information about the scholarships and eligibility requirements, please visit, or contact the Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Science at the U of A, and the Faculty of Agriculture at the U of L.

For more information please contact:

Amanda Ryan
Communications Manager
P. (403) 219-7902 C. (587) 777-6344

The Alberta Wheat Commission is a producer-directed organization representing the interests of and serving as a single voice for all of Alberta’s 11,000 wheat producers.