Press Releases

Alberta Wheat Commission Congratulates Saskatchewan Producers

The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission Names new Board of Directors

(Calgary, Alberta) – The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) commends Saskatchewan producers for electing their inaugural Board of Directors for the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (SWDC).

"We would like to congratulate the SWDC on getting their new Board of Directors established," says Kent Erickson, Chair of the AWC. "We look forward to working with their Board to build a prosperous Canadian wheat industry."

The new, seven member Board of Directors was elected by Saskatchewan wheat producers through a mail in ballot, and the new Directors will serve both two and four year terms. The new Board will be responsible for setting the strategic direction for the organization and directing the research and market development initiatives.

"Both of our Commissions will be working toward the same goal – profitability and value for our producers," adds Erickson. "There will be a lot of common ground between our organizations and we look forward to sitting down with the new Board to discuss areas of collaboration."

The new SWDC Board will assume responsibilities following the first Annual General Meeting in January 2014.

For more information please contact:

Amanda Ryan
Communications Manager
P. (403) 219-7902
C. (587) 777-6344

The Alberta Wheat Commission is a producer-directed organization representing the interests of and serving as a single voice for all of Alberta’s 11,000 wheat producers.