Press Releases

Alberta Wheat Commission Announces Director-at-Large Election at Annual Meeting

(Calgary, Alberta) – The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) announced today that a Director-at-Large election will be held during this year’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on January 27, 2016 in Edmonton, AB.

AWC issued a call for nominations in September for the Director-at-Large position and received nominations for: Kevin Bender from Bentley, Darrell Stokes from Hussar, and Jack Swainson from Red Deer, AB.

"It is great to see an election being held for the Director-at-Large position," said Kent Erickson, AWC Chair. "This means there is interest in AWC and we have growers who want to make an impact on our industry."

The Director-at-Large represents all five regions across Alberta and will provide strategic direction and leadership to the Commission on behalf of wheat producers. AWC has posted the candidate profiles at Growers are encouraged to visit the website and learn about each candidate ahead of the AGM in preparation for voting.

All eligible producers will be given a ballot at the AGM registration to vote for the Director-at-Large. An eligible producer or AWC member is someone that has sold wheat and paid a service charge or check-off to the Commission when making a commercial sale of wheat in the last two fiscal years.

"The Board of Directors encourages AWC members to attend the AGM to not only cast their vote, but to hear about the work the Commission has done in the past year and where our priorities are for the future," added Erickson.

The AGM will take place at 11:30 AM on Wednesday, January 27, 2016 in Edmonton, AB in Hall F at the Northlands Park, Edmonton Expo Centre. It is being held in conjunction with the FarmTech™ conference, but growers or members of the public wishing to attend the AGM and cast their vote do not have to be registered for the FarmTech™ conference. AGM attendees can proceed directly to Hall F.


For more information please contact:

Amanda Ryan
Communications Manager
P. 403.219.7902  l  C. 587.777.6344  l  Email

The Alberta Wheat Commission is a producer-directed organization dedicated to improving the long-term profitability of Alberta’s 14,000 wheat producers.